TCMFF Day #3

Day three of the film festival was certainly one of the most eclectic for me. It started bright and early with The Muppets Take Manhattan. Originally I planned on going to The Wiser Sex. But it was playing at the Legion. That wouldn’t give me enough time to catch the shuttle back to the multiplex for my next movie. Plus director Brian Henson was there to introduce it. It was a light, breezy start to the day.

From that I pivoted to Amadeus. I absolutely couldn’t miss it. Not only is it a favorite of mine. It was a favorite of my aunt, who passed recently. I had never seen it in a theater. Production designer Patrizia von Brandenstein’s pre-screening talk was fascinating! I recommend the movie even if classical music isn’t your thing. It’s the kind of ambitious filmmaking you rarely see anymore.

Amadeus production designer Patrizia von Brandenstein being interviewed before the film’s screening.

Next was A Conversation With Russ Tamblyn at Club TCM. I wasn’t able to make either of his movies being screened. So I had to go to this. Tamblyn was so engaging and real. He had so many great stories about life in show business. Apparently he is writing his memoirs. That promises to be a great read!

A Conversation With Russ Tamblyn

Last year it hurt that I wasn’t able to see Baby Face, the definitive pre-Code movie. I also just adore Barbara Stanwyck. This year I made a point to go to a movie of hers. So I got in the crazy, long line for Sorry, Wrong Number. Czar of noir Eddie Muller introduced it with Lawrence Hilton Jacobs. The screening had many first time viewers. It was good to see it get such a great turnout.

From there I ventured to the Legion for Enter The Dragon. It was my first time seeing it. One of the fun parts of the festival is branching out and trying movies you might not normally see. I’ve dabbled in martial arts movies here and there. But this was an essential. The introduction by Professor Jacqueline Stewart, RZA and Michael Allin was superb! Enter The Dragon was a definitely the kind of movie to see with an audience at a festival like this.

Michael Allin, RZA and Professor Jacqueline Stewart introducing Enter The Dragon.

Last, but certainly not least, was the midnight screening of Xanadu. Midnight with an audience is the best way to see this. It’s campy as all get out. But it has a lit soundtrack by ELO, Gene Kelly, Olivia Newton-John and a really charming innocence to it. The movie is part homage to MGM musicals and part 80s dance movie. It’s not the greatest movie by any means. But it’s a fun romp.

That’s a wrap for day 3! Tomorrow is the grand finale already. I can’t believe it.

Leave a comment