TCMFF Day #2

Joe Dante introducing Harvey.

Day two of the festival did not disappoint. It began with Harvey introduced by Joe Dante. It was a surprisingly well-attended screening. That speaks to the film’s quality and the enduring popularity of its star: James Stewart. No one but Stewart could have pulled off the role of Elwood P. Dowd.

After that came Footlight Parade. I really was worried I wouldn’t get in because pre-Codes are always so popular. But, miraculously I got in! Probably helped that this pre-Code played in a larger capacity theater. Seeing all those Busby Berkeley numbers on the big screen was such a treat! Bruce Goldstein’s intro was also excellent.

I then pivoted from pre-Code musical to western noir with Blood On The Moon. It was a tight turnaround and I ended up in the front row. But Robert Mitchum in 35mm was worth it! Alan K. Rode gave it a great intro too.

My night ended with back to back movies at the TCL IMAX theater. And they both featured great introductions. First Dave Karger introduced American Graffiti with Candy Clark and Richard Dreyfus. I will never tire of that movie. It’s a great time capsule, especially because it launched the careers of future stars like Richard Dreyfus, Harrison Ford and Ron Howard.

Richard Dreyfus, Candy Clark and Dave Karger discussing American Graffiti.

Originally my Friday was to end with House of Wax. I do adore Vincent Price. But having George Clooney at the festival to introduce Ocean’s Eleven with director Steven Soderbergh was a festively experience I couldn’t pass up. And it was the best intro of the festival I have seen so far. I could have listened to that discussion for days. I hadn’t seen the movie for ages. The original Ocean’s Eleven is iconic with the Rat Pack headlining the cast. But I actually prefer the remake because the characters feel more believable and the heist is more elaborate and involving for the audience. But that’s just me.

Steven Soderbergh, George Clooney and Ben Mankiewicz introducing Ocean’s Eleven.

That’s a wrap for day 2!

Leave a comment