TCMFF Day #1

Today was the official kickoff of the TCM Classic Film Festival. It was a whirlwind to say the least. A little hectic. But still fun.

It began for me with the Meet TCM panel at Club TCM. I missed it last year as I was doing the Warner Brothers Studio Tour. Got to hear a lot about what’s coming in terms of programming to TCM. There’s a lot to look forward to.

Meet TCM panel

Also a treat in Club TCM were props, costumes and other Hollywood memorabilia. The highlight for me? The last remaining functioning violins from Gold Diggers of 1933 used during the Shadow Waltz sequence.

Violins from Gold Diggers of 1933

After Meet TCM and catching up with old friends I headed over to the TCL Chinese Theater to watch the red carpet arrivals for the festival. It was a little soggy and chilly. But it was great people watching.

Dave Karger stopping to talk with red carpet emcee Scott McGee.

Last year I was heartbroken because I wasn’t able to see Steven Spielberg and see E.T. . So this year I made it a point to at least the intro of Rio Bravo. He and fellow director Paul Thomas Anderson were there to talk about the importance of film preservation. Raiders was my gateway to classic films with its references to so many great movies of the past. So going to that part of the festival meant the world to me.

Oh, did I mention Angie Dickinson? She was also part of the intro to Rio Bravo. She was a hoot! Could have listened to her all day.

After the intro to Rio Bravo it was on to the first film of the festival for me: Hairspray. Now, this was originally supposed to be poolside. But the weather gods did not cooperate. So it was moved to Club TCM. While losing the pool setting hurt, it was still a great time! The company and wonderful intro by Mario Cantone and Ricki Lake made it worthwhile. Absolutely delightful! Mario Cantone is going to be doing more for the network. I’m onboard.

Mario Cantone and Ricki Lake introducing Hairspray.

I wanted to see Genevieve to end my night. But Hairspray started a little late and I was sure I’d get shutout because I wouldn’t get there until right before it started. To my surprise after hoofing it to get there I got in! Ended up in the front row. But I made it! Genevieve isn’t a movie I would go out of my way to see again. But it was an intriguing quirky little curiosity of a film. Definitely something to see in this setting. And Diane Baker’s intro was excellent.

Diane Baker introducing Genevieve.

That’s all for day one! Off to get some shuteye. I have a packed schedule tomorrow.

Leave a comment